The 2017 Special Olympics Unified Flag Football state tournament begins on Tuesday, Oct. 31 at the home site of the higher seeds.Twelve teams -- an increase from eight in 2016 -- competed in a four-game regular season leading up to the state tournament.

The top four seeds received byes. The rest compete in first round games on Oct. 31. The second round is Tuesday, Nov. 7, also at the site of the higher seeds.

Newark Charter won the first ever Special Olympics Unified Flag Football state championship in 2016. It was also the first state title in any sport for the school.

This year’s championship game takes place between the DIAA football Division I and II championship games Dec. 2 at Delaware Stadium.

Round 1 - Tuesday, Oct. 31 (all games at 3:30 p.m.)

Northern Division

No. 3 Mt. Pleasant v. No. 6 Delcastle No. 4 Glasgow v. No. 5 William Penn

Southern Division

No. 3 Dover v. No. 6 Middletown No. 4 Woodbridge v. No. 5 Caesar Rodney