The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare celebrated the class of 2018 graduation with 26 graduates at Epworth United Methodist Church in Rehoboth Beach.

Jacquelyn Owens Wilson, a member of the Beebe Medical Center board of directors and an assistant professor for the University of Delaware, delivered the commencement speech. Wilson has been a long-time supporter of the Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing, of Beebe Healthcare and of the Lewes community. She is a member of the School of Nursing advisory board and was key in the development of the partnership between the school and the University of Delaware. She is an advocate for life-long learning and for nursing education.

Olivia Goldschmidt, president of the class of 2019, presented congratulations to the graduates. Elisha Brown, president of the class of 2018, shared class reflections and well-wishes. A video of favorite memories from the class was presented by Sarah McMillan.

David A. Herbert, chair of Beebe Medical Center’s board of directors, presented the Board of Directors Award for the highest academic achievement to Cara Melendez. The Beebe Healthcare Medical Staff sponsored the Salutatorian Award for the second-highest academic achievement, which was presented by Paul C. Peet to Chelsea Lehrer. The Alumni Award, given for Medical-Surgical Clinical Excellence in District Nursing, was presented to Angela Gleysteen. The Patient Care Leadership Award, presented by Beebe Healthcare’s Executive Leader Joan Thomas, went to Elisha Brown.

The Beebe Auxiliary Ginger Snowden Award honored two graduates who excelled academically, clinically and in the community throughout the nursing program: Makenzie Lee and Charmaine Ferebee. Angela Gleysteen received the Cordrey-Cottingham Award, in honor of Eleanor Cordrey and in memory of her sister Virginia Cottingham to the graduate demonstrating commitment, professionalism in nursing and sincerity in her practice. Landon Gehman received the Dr. David Howard Memorial Award. The Ali Trout Memorial Award, given to the student who exemplified determination and a spirit of strength was presented to Alexandra Rizzo. Shannon Hill was honored with the Faculty Award recognizing the attributes of diploma education.

Michaela Trice was the recipient of the Delaware Hospice award honoring an exemplary graduate exhibiting a compassionate philosophy in all aspects of care. Sarah McCullough, Akash Patel, Hannah Remo, Alexandra Rizzo and Whitney Toadvine were honored for their perfect attendance. The second annual philanthropy award was presented by the Beebe Medical Foundation in partnership with Margaret “Peggy” H. Rollins. The Margaret H. Rollins Student Philanthropy Award went to the graduate who demonstrated exemplary performance in philanthropic activities which supported both Beebe Healthcare and the community. This award was given to Sarah McCullough for her leadership in numerous fundraisers and community activities that helped those less fortunate. The award was presented by Judy Aliquo, president and CEO of the Beebe Medical Foundation, and Margaret H. Rollins. The School of Nursing graduates, faculty, and team members were honored to have Rollins participate in the ceremony.

Beebe Healthcare Chaplain Keith Goheen shared the invocation and the benediction.

Karen L. Pickard, program administrator of the School of Nursing, along with class advisers Lois Bixby and Tricia Wingate, presented the graduates with their school pin. Jeffrey Fried, president and CEO of Beebe Healthcare, presented the diplomas.

Members of the class of 2018 are Elisha Brown, Lili Cooney, Jessica DeFilippis, Demi Edwards, Charmaine Ferebee, Landon Gehman, Angela Gleysteen, James Hagen, Shannon Hill, Makenzie Lee, Chelsea Lehrer, Colleen Lyons, Sarah McCullough, Sarah McMillan, Cara Melendez, Alexandra Myers, Akash Patel, Hannah Powers, Hannah Remo, Alexandra Rizzo, Emily Thompson, Rebecca Tillman, Whitney Toadvine, Michaela Trice, Amber Wharton and Simone Wilson.

A reception followed the graduation in the Epworth United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall.

For more, visit