Gov. John Carney, on June 30, signed House Bill 3 into law surrounded by members of the Delaware General Assembly, educators and advocates.
This legislation offers state workers 12 weeks of paid parental leave after the birth or adoption of a child younger than 6. With this legislation, Delaware becomes the sixth state in the nation to offer paid parental leave to public workers.
“Today I was proud to stand beside state workers, members of the general assembly and advocates to make this a reality for Delaware families,” said Carney. “Our state employees deserve to spend time with their families when their children are born. It builds strong bonds, and has great health advantages. This benefit will help us maintain and strengthen our workforce, attracting new employees. Thank you to everyone who helped Delaware lead on leave.”
Full-time state workers, including educators, will be eligible for 12 weeks of paid maternity or paternity leave after one year of employment. Paid parental leave will go into effect for Delaware workers on April 1, 2019.