Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs Deputy Director Suzanne Savery and site supervisor Nena Todd of the division’s downtown Dover museums recently gave a presentation to the commissioners of the Kent County Levy Court celebrating the accreditation of the museum system of the state of Delaware by the American Alliance of Museums, the highest recognition afforded to museums in the U.S.

Administered by the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, the museum system includes five state museums — the John Dickinson Plantation near Kitts Hummock; the Johnson Victrola Museum and Old State House in downtown Dover; the New Castle Court House Museum; and the Zwaanendael Museum in Lewes — more than 40 historic properties and the state’s archaeological and historic-objects collections.

Developed and sustained by museum professionals for more than 45 years, the alliance’s accreditation program is the field’s primary vehicle for quality assurance, self-regulation and public accountability. It strengthens the museum profession by promoting practices that enable leaders to make informed decisions, allocate resources wisely and remain financially and ethically accountable to provide the best possible service to the public.