Three Delaware schools are among 342 schools that U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos

recognized Sept. 28 as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2017.

The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

East Millsboro Elementary School in the Indian River School District, Olive B. Loss Elementary School in the Appoquinimink School District and Seaford Central Elementary School in the Seaford School District are among the schools that will be honored at an awards ceremony Nov. 6-7 in Washington, D.C. The school leaders — Kelly Dorman, East Millsboro Elementary School; Lorraine Lybarger and Jenine Thomas, Olive B. Loss Elementary School; and Becky Neubert, Seaford Central Elementary School — will be invited to attend the national awards ceremony with a teacher representative from each of their schools.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students achieve high learning standards or are making improvements in closing the achievement gap.

This coveted award affirms the work of educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master engaging content. Now in its 35th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program bestowed recognition on more than 8,500 schools.

Schools are honored in one of two performance categories, based on student scores, subgroup student scores and graduation rates: exemplary high performing schools are among their state’s top performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests; exemplary achievement gap closing schools are among their state’s top performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s subgroups and students during the past five years.

For more, visit