Elected leaders in Delaware released a statement Aug. 14 on the violent protests in Charlottesville, Virginia.

“We join together to denounce the intimidation and violence perpetrated by white supremacists and Nazis in Charlottesville, Virginia last weekend, and to make clear that such conduct will not be tolerated here in Delaware,” the statement read. “We come from different backgrounds, different parties, and different parts of the state. Some of our colleagues have relatives who served and died fighting the Nazis in World War II. Some of our colleagues have ancestors who were imprisoned and killed in Nazi-run concentration camps. Some of our colleagues have ancestors who were enslaved and oppressed when white supremacy was permitted by law here in the United States.”

“All of us, together, reject the white supremacist and Nazi views espoused last weekend in Charlottesville, and condemn the behavior and violence that accompanied it,” the statement read. “It will not be tolerated here in Delaware. We are a state that rejects hate, discrimination and violence.”

The statement was signed by Gov. John Carney; Lt. Gov. Bethany Hall-Long; Attorney General Matthew Denn; State Auditor Thomas Wagner; State Treasurer Kenneth Simpler; Insurance Commissioner Trinidad Navarro; President Pro Tempore David McBride, Majority Leader Margaret Rose Henry, Majority Whip Nicole Poore, Minority Leader Gary Simpson and Minority Whip Gregory Lavelle of the Delaware State Senate; and Speaker of the House Peter Schwartzkopf, Majority Leader Valerie Longhurst, Majority Whip John Viola, Minority Leader Daniel Short and Minority Whip Deborah Hudson of the Delaware State House of Representatives.