Clayton Fire Company No. 1 Inc. held their annual Appreciation Banquet Dec. 21 at the fire hall to take a look back at the year and to honor members who stood out in 2013.

Fire Chief Robbie Johnson said 2013 was a big year for the department and it showed by the number of Clayton Fire Company members who were involved this year.

"Being a volunteer organization this is indeed an outstanding accomplishment and I would be remiss if I did not thank all of you for your support and efforts in making this such a successful year," Johnson said.

A big part of the event was the announcement of this year's main award winners: Jonathan Simmons, Steven Turner Memorial Award; Tammy Faulkner, Ladies Auxiliary Award; Joey Rigney, Firefighter of the Year; and Cheryl Hurlock, William R. "Ace" Carrow Award.

Several other members were also honored at the banquet including Ladies Auxiliary President Georgia Davis. John W. Davis was honored for 50 years of service to the community. Chaplain Kris Schonewolf was honored for her four years of service to the department. Schonewolf is pastor of Ewell's-St. Paul United Methodist Church in Clayton, but recently announced she will be leaving the church later this year. John Barkley Jr. was the 11th person to receive the Life Saving Award for his lifesaving CPR on a child in June. Rep. Bill Carson was named a Honorary Life Member of the department. Carson is a former fire chief and president of the Citizens' Hose Company in Smyrna.

"I've had a lot of awards over the years but I can honestly say this ranks as one of my proudest," Carson said. "Whenever I come to Clayton it feels like I'm home. Most people don't realize this is probably one of the few times in my life I'm speechless. Thank you so much. I just can't tell you how much this means to me."

New officers

The new officers for the upcoming year also were announced.

The 2014 administrative officers are as follows: Samuel N. Sawyer, president; Gene Shaner, vice president; Harvey W. Scott III, treasurer; W. Stephen Hudson, assistant treasurer; Robert P. Faulkner, secretary; Kenneth A. Virdin Jr., assistant secretary; Gary A. Faulkner, 1-yr. director; Cheryl Hurlock, 2-yr. director; James J. Hurlock, 3-yr. director; James R. Johnson, fire chief; Robert J. Davis, deputy chief; Mike Carroll, company historian/photographer; and Gene Shaner, company historian/photographer.

The 2014 fire line officers are as follows: James R. Johnson, fire chief; Robert. J. Davis, deputy chief; Michael S. Lucas, 1st assistant chief; Alex C. Carrow, 2nd assistant chief; Mike Harrington, captain; Justin Staats, captain; Dylan Chambers, lieutenant; John Pridemore, lieutenant; Noah Williams, fire recorder; Rodney W. Whalen, safety officer; Roland Timmons, chief engineer; Elizabeth Evans, EMS training; and Stephen Marynowicz, crew leader.

The 2014 fire police are as follows: John W. Davis, Sr.; Robert L. Lightcap; Ronald E. Burnett; George R. Ivory; Alan Dutton, and Samuel N. Sawyer.

The 2014 ladies auxiliary officers are as follows: Georgia Davis, president; Tammy Faulkner, vice president; Margo Orlando, secretary; Carol Davis, assistant secretary; Mary Ellen DeBenedictis, treasurer; Danielle Lamborn, assistant treasurer; Sharon Staats, financial secretary; and Peggy Ivory, pension officer.

The 2013-2014 Fire Prevention Queens are as follows: Alexis Steele, Little Miss; Kaylee Davis, Pre Teen; Lauren Barkley, Jr. Miss; and Veronica Demczak, Miss.