So far, church elder and Dover Chaplain Wallace Dixon is the only candidate to file to run for the special election to be held in late November to fill the seat left vacant by the late Councilwoman Sophia Russell.

City of Dover Chaplain Wallace Dixon has filed a nominating petition for the Nov. 27 special election scheduled for the open seat in the Fourth District of the Dover City Council.

Dixon is the only candidate to file thus far in the special election that will be held this autumn to replace the late Councilwoman Sophia Russell.

Russell died Oct. 6 at Bayhealth-Kent General Hospital after a second bout with cancer. She was 64.

Dixon does the invocation before each council meeting with the exception of one month each year when he defers to Mayor Carleton E. Carey Sr.

The chaplain of Dover City Council serves a one-year appointment, and Dixon has served in the role for the past 10 years. He serves as an elder at Church of God in Christ in Dover.

Dixon is also a veteran and retired administrative assistant of the U.S. Air Force.

Dixon was absent from Dover City Council's Monday night meeting and could not be reached for comment via telephone on his campaign.

The Office of the City Clerk announced on Oct. 17 that Dixon had filed his nominating petition and that said petition had been verified.

City Council voted Oct. 8 to set Nov. 27 as the date for the special election to fill the empty seat on the nine-member council, as recommended by City Clerk Traci McDowell. Filing petitions began to be accepted on Oct. 9 and would be accepted until Oct. 31. That would allow for almost a month of campaigning and absentee voting, McDowell said in documents submitted to council.

City Councilman David Anderson (Fourth District) had said council's quick action was not meant to be insensitive to the Russell family.

Council President Thomas Leary (At Large) added that state laws dictated the time frame for filling the open seat.

City Council candidates must be American citizens at least 18 years old, and they must be residents in the Fourth District for this special election.