The Delaware Chapter of the Society for Human Resources Management presented a gold award to Delaware State University for its work on campus cultivating diversity and inclusion on campus.

DSU received the award July 11 at Del-SHRM’s Diversity and Inclusion Conference

Ceremony at Dover Downs Hotel and Casino. Pamela Mosley Gresham, chairwoman of the DSU’s Diversity Task Force, accepted the award on behalf of the university.

Del-SHRM recognized DSU for partnering with TheDream.US to enroll Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals students; for employing a campus interfaith director to interface with each religion-related student organization; for being a numerous recipient of the Military Friendly School Award for its work in helping to guide military and veteran students’ transition from military life to college student; and for the establishment of a Diversity Unit within its Office of Human Resources, as well as the formation of a Diversity Task Force.

Del-SHRM honored eight nominees with gold, silver and bronze awards. DSU, the

University of Delaware and the Eagle Group each received the gold award.

DSU Diversity Task Force — established by President Harry L. Williams in March — is now working to build on the rich mix of backgrounds and existing sense of inclusion

on the Del State campus.

The task force has undertaken a systematic review of campus diversity to learn how to

provide additional support to individual ethnic, cultural, religious groups and others, as

well as how to enhance inclusion at DSU. As part of that work, a survey will be launched

during the current fall semester that will seek feedback from members of the DSU

community on issues of diversity and inclusion on campus.

Chaired by Gresham, director of labor relations and diversity in the DSU Office of

Human Resources, the university’s Diversity Task Force members includes Donald Becker, chair of the Department of Mass Communications, Visual and Performing Arts; Francine Edwards, interim dean of the College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences; Trinette Fonseca, senior secretary, Office of Counseling; Ann Knettler-Smith, coordinator of student accessibility; Young-Sik Kwak, associate dean, College of Business; Dawn Mosley, executive director of marketing and communications; Kevin Noriega, academic adviser, College of Education, Health and Public Policy, Opportunity Scholarship students; Micah Parker, campus maintenance mechanic/electrician; John Rich, assistant professor of psychology; Capt. Vincent Shipman, DSU Police Department; Jordin Williams, interim director, Department of Wellness and Recreation; Candy Young, Title IX director; Irene Chapman-Hawkins, vice president of human resources; Stacey Downing, vice president of student affairs; and David Sheppard, DSU general counsel.