Late last week, Delaware State University announced their 2013 Athletics Hall of Fame Class. This year's class includes Scott Martin, Catrina Ansbach, Shaheer McBride, Dwight Williams, Stanley Burris, Al Lavan, Paul Newman and Pedro Swann Sr.

A total of seven former athletes and a coach will be enshrined during a ceremony on Friday, November 1 at the Martin Luther King Student Center on the DSU campus. In addition, Delaware State's 1956 Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association co-champion football team and the school's 1962 CIAA co-champion baseball team will be honored during the ceremony. The honorees will also be recognized at halftime of the Hornets' football contest against Howard University the following day.

Baseball standout Scott Martin (2000-2003), is the Hornets' all-time leader in homeruns (55) and RBI (221). Martin was a three-time All-MEAC First Team selection, capturing the "Triple Crown" in 2001 posting league leading number in homeruns (18), RBI (77) and batting average (.432). Martin was also selected by the Chicago White Sox in the 2003 Major League Baseball draft.

Catrina Ansbach (2004-2007), will be the third softball player to be inducted in the Delaware State University Athletics Hall of Fame. Ansbach is the MEAC's all-time leader in homeruns (44), and holds school records for career hits (224), RBI (164) and doubles (45). The three-time All-MEAC team honoree was the league's Rookie-of-the-Year in 2004, leading the hornets to two MEAC North titles and two MEAC Championship Game appearances.

DSU's all-time leader in receptions, Shaheer McBride will also be inducted into the Hornets' Athletics Hall of Fame. Playing for DSU from 2004-2007, McBride finished with 201 receptions for 3,007 receiving yards. McBride also shares the Hornets' career record with 33 touchdown catches. McBride ranks second in MEAC history in touchdown receptions, fourth in receiving yards, and fifth in receptions. A two-time All-MEAC First-Team selection, and Rookie-of-the-Year in 2004, McBride topped off his career by being signed by the Philadelphia Eagles in 2008.

Head Coach of the Hornets' 2007 MEAC Championship football team, Al Lavan, will join his former player McBride in the class of 2013. Lavan was recognized as the Football Championship Subdivision Region II Coach-of-the-Year and runner up for the Eddie Robinson Award for top FCS coach in 2007. That year, the Hornets became just the second team in the MEAC to post an 8-0 league mark, while setting a school record with 10 wins.

Other inductees include, Dwight Williams (1967-1970) a top defensive back on the Hornets' 1970 squad that led the NCAA Division II in total defense and rushing defense.

Offensive Lineman Stanley Burris, a member of the 1991 MEAC Championship team, who helped lead the Hornets to a school record 730 total yards against Morgan State in 1993. Burris was a two-time All-MEAC and Black College All-America Third Team Offensive Lineman while with the Hornets.

Pedro Swann Sr., a baseball and football standout for the Hornets was named Delaware State's Male Athlete-of-the-Year- in 1970. Swann was tops in the CIAA and among National Division II leaders in average, batting .471 in the Hornets' Conference Championship season of 1970. The same year, Burris was the number one receiver and punter for the Hornets football squad.

Paul Newman, a standout on the hardwood, ranks fifth all-time in DSU's Men's Basketball History with 1,485 points. Newman averaged 17 points-per-game and helped lead DSU to their first MEAC Tournament Championship Game appearance in 1991.