|
Dover Post
  • 33 West Ale House & Grill debuts fall entertainment lineup

  • Downtown Dover has a new hot spot for locally crafted beer, darts, music and laid back fun with 33 West Ale House and Grill's fall lineup that includes the singing talents of local musicians, a dart league and several programs aimed at creating a beer-loving community.
    • email print
  • Dover residents may have noticed a change to the popular corner eatery 33 West. Following renovations that began Memorial Day weekend, the restaurant reopened Tuesday, June 26 with more than just a new look. They're now 33 West Ale House and Grill, featuring more than 35 choices of beer and 14 new tap choices, all of which are craft and microbrews.
    Owner Brandon Pelton said the restaurant was taken down to the bare bones in order to create a new look that will hopefully produce a whole new atmosphere.
    "We gutted the place and took it down to one wall so that we could expand the kitchen and offer more entertainment options," Pelton said.
    Some of these new options include the Pub Club. For $50, patrons get a T-shirt and an engraved mug. Every Thursday, members receive half off draft beer and $2 off sample selections.
    Service industry workers can also claim their own time slot now with the new "reverse happy hour," which takes place from 8 to 10 p.m. Tuesday through Thursday nights.
    "Servers and kitchen staff usually don't get a chance to take advantage of normal happy hours," Pelton said. "Now, they can. They just have to bring in their ABC cards or paycheck stubs and they'll get 10 percent off their orders."
    Manager Sarah Ottignger said the restaurant will also welcome a new dart league on Tuesday nights come October.
    "We are hoping for six teams of two but if there's enough buzz, we could change that to 12 teams of two and expand it to Thursdays as well," Ottinger said.
    She added that team members could also take advantage of half-priced appetizers and beer specials on those nights.
    33 West is also looking forward to a beer dinner featuring the locally crafted concoctions of Fordham and Old Dominion Brewing Company. The event is scheduled for Oct. 1 and includes a four-course meal with beer pairings. Tickets are $75 per person or $130 per couple and can be purchased during normal operating hours.
    "We also want people to know that we have a full menu until 10 p.m. and a late night menu for Fridays and Saturdays," Ottinger said. "We're hoping to see a beer loving, laid back crowd to come hang out with us and enjoy all the changes we've made and all the ones we're making."
    33 WEST'S FALL SCHEDULE
    Thursday, Sept. 20 Pub Club
    Thursday, Sept. 27 Pub Club
    Friday, Sept. 28 The Honeybadgers
    Thursday, Oct 4 Pub Club
    Friday, Oct. 5 TBA
    Tuesday, Oct. 9 Dart competition
    Page 2 of 2 - Thursday, Oct. 11 Pub Club
    Friday, Oct. 12 Tom and Dawne
    Tuesday, Oct. 16 Dart competition
    Thursday, Oct. 18 Pub Club
    Friday, Oct. 19 TBA
    Tuesday, Oct. 23 Dart competition
    Thursday, Oct. 25 Pub Club
    Friday, Oct. 26 Runaway Train Acoustic
    Tuesday, Oct. 30 Dart competition
    Thursday, Nov. 1 Pub Club
    Friday, Nov. 2 Rich and Jimmy James

        calendar