All the local sports announcements and race results

U15 girls soccer tryouts to be held June 3 and 5
    The First State Independence girls’ traveling soccer team will hold open tryouts from 6 to 7:30 p.m.  Tuesday, June 3 and Thursday, June 5, at Dover Park.

    The tryouts will be for the 2008/09 U15 season and are open to girls born after August 1, 1993.

    The First State Independence is a team that strives to compete at the highest levels with college level training in a fun and positive environment.

    For more information, call Don Talerico at 270-9376 or visit

DE Army National Guard Run/Walk results
    The DE Army National Guard 5-mile Run and 5K Walk was held May 17 at Delaware Technical & Community College, Dover.

    The overall male winner was Jess Manning, 30:32, while Lori Berryhill, 39:48, was the overall female winner.

    First place in the male 15 to 19 division was taken by Marcus Rydlewski, 46:09. Annie Breeding, 43:47, was first place among females.

    Donovan Anderson, 39:27, was first place in the male 20 to 29 division, followed by Robert Ford, 42:37, and Jeffery Knight, 43:55. In the female division, Victoria Rickert, 53:52, won first place.

    In the male 30 to 39 division Joseph Squitiere, 43:02, won first place. In second and third place were Anthony Graciano, 43:08, and Phil Smith, 45:02. Laurie Spraga, 43:08, won first place in the female division, Sandra Krugh, 43:52, won second and Patty Geiser, 45:06, took third.

    First place in the male 40 to 49 division was won by Scott Stewart, 34:18, with Ed Hood, 34:35, and Charles Hampton, 40:36, coming in second and third. In the female division, Ann Brown, 40:36, took first place, followed by Linda Schwartz-Chi, 41:21, and Kim Lindgre, 48:41.

    Jose Lukecart, 39:14, won the male 50 to 59 division. John Durk, 40:05, and Jim Marvin, 45:52, came in second and third.

    In the male 60 and older division, Richard Grace, 40:07, won first place, Jules Woodall, 40:21, won second and Timothy Butler, 43:45, took third.

    Bruce Pringle, 36:04, was the first-place male walker, followed by Bob Carroll, 36:23, and Greg Symes, 43:34. For the female walkers, Laura Gondeck, 38:24, came in first, Nancy Rivera, 43:31, in second and Katie Otto, 43:34, third.